The Galveston Marriage license is a beautiful specimen. It is good for use in any county in Texas. Always check with your county for pricing and identification requirements.
In order tp obtain a marriage license, you need to go to the Court of the County of Galveston, located at 600 59th Street, Suite 2001, here in Galveston. The office is open Monday through Friday 8am-5pm. You may reach the office by phone at (409)766-2207.
A blood test is not required to obtain a marriage license.
If you are over 18 years of age, there is no parental consent required. Acceptable form of identification includes an original or certified copy of your Birth Certificate, a valid Driver License, Military ID, ID issued by the Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas, a valid Passport, etc.
.If you are age 16 to 17, you must have consent of a parent, managing conservator or legal guardian or judicial approval. The County Clerk can provide a parental consent form.
Both parties must appear together to apply for a marriage license. However, a portion of the application process may be completed by filing an Absentee Affidavit if one party is unable to appear in person. License must be obtained 72 hours prior to wedding. Only a District or County Court at Law Judge can waive this requirement. An applicant who is on active military duty is exempt from the 72 hour waiting period. License is valid up to 30 days after date of issuance. License is valid in any county in Texas. License fee is $71, and must be paid in cash.
Marriages in Texas may be performed by:
- a licensed or ordained Christian minister or priest
- a Jewish rabbi
- a person who is an officer of a religious organization and who is authorized
by the organization to conduct a marriage ceremony
- a Justice of the Peace, County Judge, District Judge, or retired Judge
If either person is divorced, he/she will need to provide the date of the divorce. (If the divorce occurred within the previous 30 days, the person must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree).
Couples living together as husband and wife may wish to make a matter of record their marriage without formality. Call (409)766-2207 for information concerning a Declaration of Informal Marriage.
Witnesses are not required.
Once you pick up your license, give Courthouse Wedding Chapel a call at 281-803-9818 to arrange your wedding ceremony and save the date. We can also come to you and perform the ceremony at your venue.
Copyright protected by Digiprove © 2015